Shopping For Records #39: Bob Dylan Mono Set...

Columbia hops on the Mono train with a new set of Bob Dylan reissues. They're also releasing Dylan's 9th volume of bootlegs entitled, The Witmark Demos: 1962-1964.

Info is below.

Via Sony:

The Original Mono Recordings are comprised of these albums painstakingly reproduced from their first generation monaural mixes as the artist intended them to be heard: One channel of powerful sound, both direct and immediate. While stereo recordings had been available as early as the mid-1950s, mono was still the predominant – and often preferred – mode of recording and mixing by the top artists of the 1960s. As a result, artists like The Beatles, The Rolling Stones and Bob Dylan devoted their attention to the mono mixes, leaving the stereo mixing process to studio engineers.

The Original Mono Recordings are accompanied by a deluxe booklet, featuring vintage photographs of Bob Dylan and an expansive essay from renowned author and critic – and longtime Dylan aficionado – Greil Marcus. Each disc in the set comes in its own individual jacket which faithfully replicates the original album artwork, complete with labels and stickers that were found on the original 1960s releases.

Also includes a limited edition 18" x 24" Bob Dylan poster.

The eight albums in The Original Mono Recordings are as follows:

* Bob Dylan – 1962
* The Freewheelin’ Bob Dylan – 1963
* The Times They Are A-Changin’ – 1964
* Another Side Of Bob Dylan – 1964
* Bringing It All Back Home – 1965
* Highway 61 Revisited – 1965
* Blonde on Blonde – 1966
* John Wesley Harding – 1967

The Witmark Demos are seeing their first commercial release on 2 CD in nearly five decades after they were first recorded. Listening to these 47 original recordings, one can trace Dylan’s dramatic growth as a songwriter from early traditionally-styled songs like “Man On The Street” and “Ramblin’ Gamblin’ Willie” through the social commentary of “Blowin’ In The Wind, “The Times They Are A Changin’” and “Masters Of War,” and the groundbreaking lyrical genius of “Mr. Tambourine Man.” All of these songs, and all the others on The Witmark Demos, were written – and their subsequent demos recorded – before Bob Dylan turned 24 years old.

Among the many gems found on
The Witmark Demos are 15 previously unreleased Bob Dylan songs which include the plaintive “Ballad For A Friend,” the civil rights era-inspired “Long Ago, Far Away” and “The Death Of Emmett Till,” and the poignant “Guess I’m Doing Fine.”

The Witmark Demos also features a deluxe booklet featuring in-depth liner notes by noted music historian Colin Escott, as well as rare photographs of Bob Dylan captured during the same period as these early recordings.

Also includes an exclusive
Witmark Demos t-shirt and a digital download of the complete album.


Disc 1:

1. Man On The Street (Fragment)
2. Hard Times In New York Town
3. Poor Boy Blues
4. Ballad For A Friend
5. Rambling, Gambling Willie
6. Talking Bear Mountain Picnic Massacre Blues
7. Standing On The Highway
8. Man On The Street
9. Blowin’ In The Wind
10. Long Ago, Far Away
11. A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall
12. Tomorrow Is A Long Time
13. The Death of Emmett Till
14. Let Me Die In My Footsteps
15. Ballad Of Hollis Brown
16. Quit Your Low Down Ways
17. Baby, I’m In The Mood For You
18. Bound To Lose, Bound To Win
19. All Over You
20. I’d Hate To Be You On That Dreadful Day
21. Long Time Gone
22. Talkin’ John Birch Paranoid Blues
23. Masters Of War
24. Oxford Town
25. Farewell

Disc 2:

1. Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right
2. Walkin’ Down The Line
3. I Shall Be Free
4. Bob Dylan’s Blues
5. Bob Dylan’s Dream
6. Boots Of Spanish Leather
7. Girl From The North Country
8. Seven Curses
9. Hero Blues
10. Whatcha Gonna Do?
11. Gypsy Lou
12. Ain’t Gonna Grieve
13. John Brown
14. Only A Hobo
15. When The Ship Comes In
16. The Times They Are A-Changin’
17. Paths Of Victory
18. Guess I’m Doing Fine
19. Baby Let Me Follow You Down
20. Mama, You Been On My Mind
21. Mr. Tambourine Man
22. I’ll Keep It With Mine

Letters From A Tapehead


Popular posts from this blog

Ellie Greenwich (1940-2009)

The Mailbox Giveth: Sleaford Mods

What I Heard This Morning: Breton