jesu: Trailer for the upcoming Everyday I Get Closer To The Light From Which I Came

An audio snippet in the form of a trailer for the upcoming jesu album, Everyday I Get Closer to the Light From Which I Came, has surfaced.  You can find the visual below as well as some info on the release, which were provided by Rarely Unable. 


Building up to the September 23rd release on Avalanche, jesu have released the first alluring details of forthcoming album Everyday I Get Closer To The Light From Which I Came and understandably, there is good reason to be excited. Today we can unveil the album artwork (shown above) and tracklisting:

1. Homesick
2. Comforter
3. Everyday
4. The Great Leveller
5. Grey Is The Colour

jesu have also revealed this audio sample from the album, which includes an edit for the powerful album opener, 'Homesick': (direct link:


Beginning with ‘Homesick', with its guitar hooks, shoegaze textures and familar jesu sound, one can be mislead into considering that this new album will follow a familar jesu trajectory, but instead the following tracks use jesu’s aeshetic and take in dub, post punk and electronica along the way, to create maybe the most dynamic jesu album to date.

The epic ‘The Great Leveller’, at over 17 minutes, is the boldest statement of the songs here -- featuring the album's only other player besides Justin, Nicola Manzan, who commands a one man orchestra of strings, a new and welcomed feature. The song also lyrically deals with the existential drain that is early parenthood, since Justin became a father for the first time just before beginning work on this LP, and this life changing experience is mostly what this album examines thematically.

Letters From A Tapehead


Popular posts from this blog

Ellie Greenwich (1940-2009)

The Mailbox Giveth: Sleaford Mods

What I Heard This Morning: Snapped Ankles