Shopping For Records: Soundgarden's Screaming Life/Fopp to be Reissued

For those of us who remember Soundgarden as this unstoppable alt-metal force whose rep had yet to be sullied by Timbaland and ex-members of Rage Against the Machine, the power of their sound still finds resonance.  Granted, we're twenty and more years from Soundgarden's true point of relevance, so Sub Pop's reissue of their Screaming Life/Fopp EP will be most exciting to anyone whose teenage lives coincided with the release of either Badmotorfinger or Superunknown (as mine did).  Still, hearing the band at full-strength in the late 80s before MTV pulled them out of obscurity confirms how truly good this band was.  Inasmuch as Soundgarden's glory had yet to be realized from a commercial perspective, their SST/Sub Pop years document a span of time when they'd committed to mattering musically.  And, they did not disappoint.

All info comes courtesy of Sub Pop.

Sub Pop Reissues Soundgarden’s Screaming Life / Fopp EP on November 26th

Listen to “Nothing To Say” Via YouTube

From the depths of the Sub Pop archives comes a reissue of Soundgarden’s thunderous opening salvo,
Screaming Life, plus bonus tracks from the Fopp EP and Sub Pop 200 compilation, to be released on CD / 2xLP / DL on November 26th. The album is now available for preorder at Please find a full tracklisting below.

Screaming Life / Fopp reissue marks the first time these tracks will be available digitally, and their first appearance on vinyl since the original, late-80s pressings (notwithstanding a long-gone, late-‘90s repress of Screaming Life). All tracks have been remastered by Seattle studio wizard and producer of the original Screaming Life and Sub Pop 200 sessions, Jack Endino, who had this to say about it:

“Ah, Screaming Life, Soundgarden's debut, and one of the first real records I made for anyone outside my own band. I already knew Soundgarden pretty well, since they and Skin Yard had shared the stage many times in Seattle's tiny club scene circa 1985-1986. Soon after opening Reciprocal Recording in July 1986, there I was with Soundgarden, trying to make the most of our eight tracks. Somehow, we found room for all of Matt Cameron’s 'bonus tubs,' Hiro’s primordial Fender bass, and a whopping four tracks to share between Kim Thayil's mad guitar psychedelia and Chris Cornell's still-expanding voice. 'Nothing To Say' was the song that made us all look at each other and go, ‘uh, holy crap, how did we do this?

Stuff started happening. A&M came calling. SST agreed to put out their next record. But Soundgarden was not finished with Sub Pop. They contributed 'Sub Pop Rock City,' about Seattle’s then-rising 'grunge' scene, to the Sub Pop 200 comp; and they threw everyone a curveball with Steve Fisk-produced Ohio Players and Green River covers on the Fopp EP.

The glorious vistas of a major label future awaited them. To quote Kim from an old interview, ‘It was karma, it was dogma, it was dog breath (read more at Sub Pop).'”

Screaming Life / Fopp EP

1. Hunted Down
2. Entering
3. Tears to Forget
4. Nothing to Say
5. Little Joe
6. Hand of God
7. Sub Pop Rock City
8. Fopp
9. Fopp (Fucked Up Heavy Dub Mix)
10. Kingdom of Come
11. Swallow My Pride

Letters From A Tapehead


Popular posts from this blog

Ellie Greenwich (1940-2009)

The Mailbox Giveth: Sleaford Mods

What I Heard This Morning: Breton