Boris: Riot Sugar

A new single from Boris' upcoming release, Heavy Rocks, was unveiled today by Pitchfork. If "Riot Sugar" is any indication of the quality of Heavy Rocks, not to mention the accompanying Attention Please, there's cause for optimism.  The song has less of a drone, but the mud is energetic and intact.

Information and links provided by Us/Them Group:

Boris releases new song from forthcoming album Heavy Rocks

Track listing revised for both new Boris albums out on Sargent House in May

Iconoclast Japanese trio Boris have released the first single from the all-new Heavy Rocks -- one of TWO new full length Boris albums to be released on the same day via Sargent House this spring. The song, "Riot Sugar" premiered today via Pitchfork and is available HERE.

Due to circumstances beyond the control of both Boris and Sargent House, the release date and track listings for the band's two new albums,
Attention Please and the all-new Heavy Rocks have been pushed back to May 24th, 2011. See complete details below.

Boris has earned its rabid cult following for their ability to expertly harness music as power. Be it psychedelic metal, colossal drone, blistering punk or distortion-ravaged shoegaze, a Boris song is an exploration of sound as physical mass. The Japanese trio's classic 2002 album,
Heavy Rocks is a landmark of their mastery. So, it's fitting that the group's new album sharing the same title and very similar artwork to that disc, this year's Heavy Rocks seeks to redefine "heavy" music in a culmination of the band's tireless efforts over the past two decades. Heavy Rocks (2011) is beyond heavy, it firmly establishes Boris as the pillar of innovation and integrity in guitar-based music.
Heavy Rocks opens with fitting aplomb as a driving drum beat catapults a thunderous drop-tuned guitar riff headlong into the Sabbath meets Eddie Hazel pummeling of "Riot Sugar" (featuring guest backup vocals by Ian Astbury). Elsewhere, bristling thrash meets ethereal psychedelia ("GALAXIANS", "Window Shopping") and lush, languorous nearly 13-minute songs "Missing Pieces" and "Aileron" navigate explosive quiet/loud dynamics with inventive use of song structure and emotionally-wrenching melody. Heavy Rocks is at once both a reinvention of Boris' magical ability to combine elements of myriad genres as much as it is a return to form, expanding and developing on the ideas explored on the original 2002 Heavy Rocks album.

Boris invited some very, uh, heavy friends to contribute to songs the album, including longtime collaborator and Boris' touring second guitarist Michio Kurihara (Ghost), Ian Astbury (The Cult, BXI), Faith Coloccia (Mamiffer) and Aaron Turner (Isis, Mamiffer, et al.) It's worth noting that all guests tracked their parts in Tokyo, not via file transfer.

Some of
Heavy Rocks (2011) originated following Boris touring the world in 2008 in support of their previous album, Smile. The trio set about recording new material and an album was completed, then abandoned. The band sought to challenge themselves further, and the end results are two new albums of dramatic growth and the most powerful extension to Boris' unparalleled creativity, the all new Heavy Rocks (not to be mistaken for their earlier 2002 release, Heavy Rocks) and Attention Please.

Boris formed in the early 90s as a four piece just-for-fun endeavor with the sonic template of influences like Melvins and Earth. By the time of its 1996 debut as a trio
Absolutego (later released in the US via Southern Lord in 2000), Boris had already hit its stride in creating unique ground-rattling heavy, melodic music. The group, bassist/vocalist Takeshi, guitarist/vocalist Wata and drummer/vocalist Atsuo went on to release nearly 20 studio albums, as well as numerous collaborative albums -- including projects with Merzbow, Sunn0))), Ian Astbury and Michio Kurihara of Ghost (who also currently tours with the band as second guitarist) -- EPs and singles on various labels throughout the world. For a further in-depth discography, please see HERE.
Heavy Rocks and its counterpart, Attention Please will be available worldwide (excluding Japan) on LP, CD and digital download via Sargent House on May 24th, 2011. The vinyl version of Heavy Rocks will feature extended versions of "Missing Pieces" and "Czechoslovakia".

Artist: Boris
Attention Please
Label: Sargent House
Release Date: May 24th, 2011

01. Attention Please

02. Hope (MP3)
03. Party Boy
04. See You Next Week
05. Tokyo Wonder Land
06. You
07. Aileron
08. Les Paul Custom '86
09. Spoon
10. Hand in Hand

Artist: Boris
Heavy Rocks
Label: Sargent House
Release Date: May 24th, 2011

01. Riot Sugar (MP3)
02. Leak -Truth, yesnoyesnoyes-
04. Jackson Head
05. Missing Pieces
06. Key
07. Window Shopping
08. Tu, la la
09. Aileron
10. Czechoslovakia

On the Web:

Letters From A Tapehead


Popular posts from this blog

Ellie Greenwich (1940-2009)

The Mailbox Giveth: Sleaford Mods

What I Heard This Morning: Snapped Ankles